المكرمون

يتبنى شعار ”تغيير السيناريو“

مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي الدولي يكرّس دورته الافتتاحية للاحتفاء بروح التغيير والتجديد السينمائي ويكرّم ثلاثة من رواد التغيير

علن مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي الدولي بأن دورته الافتتاحية التي ستنطلق الشهر المقبل في جدة ستحمل شعار ”تغيير السيناريو“.

ويعلن المهرجان عن تكريم ثلاثة من روّاد التغيير والابتكار في بلدانهم وأقاليمهم الجغرافية، ممن استطاعوا طبع علامات فارقة في عالم صناعة السينما. هم جاك لانغ، وزير الثقافة الفرنسي الأسبق، كيم دونغ-هو، مؤسس مهرجان بوسان السينمائي في كوريا الجنوبية، ودانييلا ميشيل المديرة المؤسسة لمهرجان موريليا السينمائي الدولي بالمكسيك.

وقد علّق مدير المهرجان محمود صباغ على هذا التكريم الثلاثي بقوله: "يصب هذا التكريم في صميم أهداف مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي، في تقدير الموروث الشخصي والمؤسسي لرواد عالم صناعة السينما، الذين أسهموا في اطلاق قدرات فنية وروائع سينمائية لأجيال كاملة". وأضاف صبّاغ، "كما ان لهذا التكريم أهمية أخرى، كونه يتزامن مع اللحظة التأسيسية لقطاع السينما في بلادنا، وما يمكن ان يضيفه تقديم مثل هذه النماذج العالمية الى حوار تأسيس قطاع السينما لدينا".

وسوف يتم تقديم ثلاث جوائز يُسر ذهبية للشخصيات المكرّمة، على مجمل مسيرتها العملية، في حفل الافتتاح المزمع إقامته في جدة في يوم 12 مارس 2020.

علن مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي الدولي بأن دورته الافتتاحية التي ستنطلق الشهر المقبل في جدة ستحمل شعار ”تغيير السيناريو“.

ويعلن المهرجان عن تكريم ثلاثة من روّاد التغيير والابتكار في بلدانهم وأقاليمهم الجغرافية، ممن استطاعوا طبع علامات فارقة في عالم صناعة السينما. هم جاك لانغ، وزير الثقافة الفرنسي الأسبق، كيم دونغ-هو، مؤسس مهرجان بوسان السينمائي في كوريا الجنوبية، ودانييلا ميشيل المديرة المؤسسة لمهرجان موريليا السينمائي الدولي بالمكسيك.

وقد علّق مدير المهرجان محمود صباغ على هذا التكريم الثلاثي بقوله: "يصب هذا التكريم في صميم أهداف مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي، في تقدير الموروث الشخصي والمؤسسي لرواد عالم صناعة السينما، الذين أسهموا في اطلاق قدرات فنية وروائع سينمائية لأجيال كاملة". وأضاف صبّاغ، "كما ان لهذا التكريم أهمية أخرى، كونه يتزامن مع اللحظة التأسيسية لقطاع السينما في بلادنا، وما يمكن ان يضيفه تقديم مثل هذه النماذج العالمية الى حوار تأسيس قطاع السينما لدينا".

وسوف يتم تقديم ثلاث جوائز يُسر ذهبية للشخصيات المكرّمة، على مجمل مسيرتها العملية، في حفل الافتتاح المزمع إقامته في جدة في يوم 12 مارس 2020.

JackLang

جاك لانغ (فرنسا)

شغل منصب وزير الثقافة الفرنسي في حكومة ميتران منذ عام 1981، وساهم في تغيير المشهد الثقافي والإبداعي في فرنسا. أحدث انقلاباً نوعياً في قطاع السينما، حيث عمل على وضع بنية تحتية ربحية للفيلم الفرنسي، وعلى خلق آفاق جديدة للفيلم الفرنسي. دفع بإستراتيجية نموذجية في تدخل الدولة في الإنتاج السينمائي، حيث أعاد هيكلة الصناديق القائمة مثل مركز الفيلم الوطني الفرنسي، وصندوق دعم الأفلام المستقلة، كما أسس صناديق عامة جديدة، مثل صندوق أفلام الإنتاج الضخم. وكان ابتكاره المعروف بصناديق السوفيكا، وهي صناديق من المال الخاص، بمثابة درة تاج مرحلته. لقد اقتبست نماذجه التمويلية في كثير من الدول، وأفاد من برامجه كل جيل الموجة الجديدة من المخرجين الكبار: غودار، ترافو، ريفيت، شابرول، وروميير.

DanielaMichel

دانييلا ميشيل (المكسيك)

هي المديرة المؤسسة لمهرجان موريليا السينمائي الدولي، وهو مهرجان سنوي تأسس عام 2003 لدعم الجيل الجديد من المخرجين المكسيكيين، ينسب له الفضل لصعود السينما المكسيكية عالمياً، وتأثيره المباشر في صعود جيل جديد بات يكتسح الجوائز الكبرى وينتزع مكانة دائمة في برمجة المهرجانات الكبرى — فيما يسمى "العهد الذهبي الثاني" للسينما المكسيكية. استحوذ مهرجان موريليا على سمعة دولية مرموقة، وتميز بارتباطه العضوي بمفاصل السوق وصناعة السينما المكسيكية.

KimDong-ho

كيم دونغ-هو (كوريا الجنوبية)

المؤسس والرئيس السابق لمهرجان بوسان السينمائي الدولي، الذي تحوّل بعد تأسيسه في عام 1996 الى وجهة سينمائية آسيوية هامة على أجندة السينما العالمية. جيّر دونغ-هو مسيرته الوظيفية السابقة في الشركة الكورية لتسويق الأفلام، الى تأسيس مهرجان سينمائي صلب ثقافيا، ومجدٍ تجاريا، ساهم في رسم ملامح المشهد الثقافي في كوريا الجنوبية، في تعميق قاعدة صناعة السينما الكورية، والى الدفع بالفيلم الكوري الى آفاق عالمية. ومنذ الدورة الأولى لمهرجان بوسان كانت بصمة كيم هي الانفتاح على الجمهور، وفي قدرته في خلق قاعدة جماهيرية واسعة تتعاطى مع العروض المتنوعة والجديدة للسينما.

HONOREES

“Changing the Script” – Red Sea International Film Festival announces theme and honors three cinematic innovators

Inaugural Festival embraces heritage, evolution, and storytelling – celebrating the dynamism of cinema and its relevance for a changing world

The Festival announces the honoring of three creators of change and innovation in their countries, who made great contributions to the world of film. They are Jack Lang, former French Minister of Culture, Kim Dong-ho, founder of South Korea’s Busan Film Festival, and Daniela Michel, founding director of the Morelia International Film Festival in Mexico.

Festival director Mahmoud Sabbagh commented: "The honoring of these three legendary figures is at the heart of the Red Sea Film Festival's goals. An appreciation of pioneers of the film industry, who contributed to unlocking artistic capabilities of their compatriots and developing cinematic masterpieces to be enjoyed for generations." Sabbagh added, "It coincides with the founding moment of the film industry in our country, and in honouring these individuals looks at how the introduction of similar international models can add to the dialogue establishing Saudi’s film industry."

Three Gold Yusr awards will be presented at the opening ceremony of the Red Sea Film Festival on March 12 to our trio of honorees who embody the spirit of “Change the Script.”

Festival Theme: Change the Script

The Festival announces the honoring of three creators of change and innovation in their countries, who made great contributions to the world of film. They are Jack Lang, former French Minister of Culture, Kim Dong-ho, founder of South Korea’s Busan Film Festival, and Daniela Michel, founding director of the Morelia International Film Festival in Mexico.

Festival director Mahmoud Sabbagh commented: "The honoring of these three legendary figures is at the heart of the Red Sea Film Festival's goals. An appreciation of pioneers of the film industry, who contributed to unlocking artistic capabilities of their compatriots and developing cinematic masterpieces to be enjoyed for generations." Sabbagh added, "It coincides with the founding moment of the film industry in our country, and in honouring these individuals looks at how the introduction of similar international models can add to the dialogue establishing Saudi’s film industry."

Three Gold Yusr awards will be presented at the opening ceremony of the Red Sea Film Festival on March 12 to our trio of honorees who embody the spirit of “Change the Script.”

JackLang

Jack Lang (France)

Appointed Minister of Culture by President Mitterrand in 1981, Jack Lang has made an unparalleled impact over the creative landscape of France. He created a revolution in the film sector, where he worked to develop a profitable infrastructure for the French film industry. Lang redefined the state's involvement in cinema production with the restructuring of existing funds, a strategy that paid off handsomely. He oversaw the creation of the French National Cinema Center and the Independent Film Support Fund, establishing new funds such as the Mass Production Film Fund. His innovative idea, known as the SOFICA funds, which are private money funds, was the crown jewel of his plans. Many countries have since copied the funding model, and its programs have benefited many generations of directors, including New Wave giants, Godard, Truffaut, Rivette, Chabrol and Rohmer.

DanielaMichel

Daniela Michel (Mexico)

Daniela Michel is the founding director of the International Morelia Film Festival, established in 2003 as an annual festival to support a new generation of Mexican directors, and credited with the rise of Mexican cinema internationally. The direct result of this is the prominence of a new generation of Mexican filmmakers, that is winning major prizes and gaining a permanent place in major film festival competitions. Collectively they have come to be known as "The Second Golden Age” of Mexican cinema. In addition, The Morelia Festival has acquired a prestigious international reputation, while also playing a central and important role at the heart of the Mexican film industry.

KimDong-ho

KIM DONG-HO (SOUTH KOREA)

A giant of Korean cinema, Kim Dong-ho is the founder and former Chairman of the Busan International Film Festival (BIFF), launched in 1996, it developed into Asia’s premier film event, a central hub for the Asian film industry and a global film destination. Since the first edition of the Busan Film Festival, its openness to the public, and its ability to create a large audience enjoying diverse cinematic offerings have had a huge impact on the Korean film industry. Throughout his career, he has made significant contributions to shaping Korea’s cultural landscape. One example, from 1988, he was president of the Korean Motion Picture Promotion Corporation (now Korean Film Council), contributing to the expansion of the cultural scene, deepening the base of the Korean film industry, and establishing Korean films as a global force.